#FATtoFIT

I have always been a ‘big girl’ – from the minute I hit puberty I started to chub up and I just didn’t stop. 

I am fat. It’s not a put down, it’s not a fish for compliments, it’s the simple truth. I can’t count how many diets I’ve tried and failed at, from the age if 13-18yr I was on diet after diet. Then I decided just to accept (or maybe ignore is a more honest description) my weight and be the fun, fat chick. 

Over the years I was told I was a great girl and men would love me if I lost some weight (by friends, family, society and some men even said it straight to me), I was told I was so pretty for a bigger girl or I dressed well for a bigger girl (not the way I wanted to dress mind you but I made the woeful plus sized department work for me) or was questioned if I would be able to keep up the pace at my size during one job training session. My ‘best friend’ offered to buy me a body wrap season so I could “lose a few kgs and feel more confident standing beside me on my wedding day in front of all those people.” But none of that negativity made me lose weight, in fact it just made my self worth drop and I gained more and more. 

When I fell pregnant with my youngest I was at my heaviest weight ever, almost 140kgs. I did the Michelle Bridges 12WBT and lost over 30kgs over a year. I was almost halfway to my goal and then I just stopped. I got complacent and lazy and slowly the weight came back. 

 
Today I’m starting over again. I want to lose about 50kgs so it’s going to be a long road but I’m committing to it. I started a 12 week plan created by my personal trainer today and I’m meal planning again. I can do this, I will do this xxx 

Leave a Reply

